May Days

T and I were discussing how great May has been! Let’s recap.

First- let’s acknowledge how great life is when you’re not depressed. Someone asked me what it’s like to no longer live with a diagnosis. I described feeling lighter, brighter, more energetic and outgoing, extroverted and hopeful. When living under an Eeyore cloud, life felt heavier, easy things felt too hard, and I was grumpy quite often.

More about that later. Some of the best things happened this month. T and I went to NY for Skeeball Nationals! When you tell a stranger you’re from Denver- they love to tell you where they have visited in Colorado. Only response is to nod, smile and say, “that’s great.” Anywho, T and I were given a special award and everyone was nice to us. And the best moment, the proclamation “Allison’s Bachelorette Party takes out 3 Hot Guys.” I got to see my ole fave people (actually, 2), saw the scene of Carrie Bradshaw’s declaration, “Just tell me I’m the one,” and witnessed locations of history in Stonewall and 9/11. Y’all know I get real excited on that stuff.

THEN, I got to see Matt & Kim at Red Rocks! I went with a bestie. They’re the best, and it was a beautiful evening. They make me jive and I love singing along. It was over too soon.

I also achieved greatness. I ran 5.5 miles in the Colfax marathon relay with my friends. I have never run that far, didn’t think I could, and resigned myself to running a bit and walking the rest. I found myself running the whole time! I just kept going! My lungs and endurance stood by my side, my feets didn’t hurt, and I was uplifted by the positive energy of the crowd. I also resonated with a yard sign, “Run like a Millennial Runs from Commitment.” And I did.

Finally, T and I got to see our podcast sheroes, Krista and Lindsay from Almost 30!! They were empowering, inspiring, and I got to fangirl, reminiscent of when I saw Britney Spears in concert at age 12. It was great to share an amazing space and energy with my soul sister.

What else. I got some good news about loan repayment, got to spend time with my Mom in the mountains, and have felt more confident dancing salsa. I even asked a guy to dance! I saw Derek Hough perform and he reminded me (and the whole audience) I have worth as a person.

Bye May. Let’s see what June brings.

Leave a comment